topSkip to main content

Menu, Secondary

Menu Trigger


AAU President: NSF for the Future Act Would Support Critical Research Mission

The following is a statement from Association of American Universities President Barbara R. Snyder about the introduction of the bipartisan National Science Foundation for the Future Act:

We applaud House Science, Space and Technology Committee Chair Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Ranking Member Frank Lucas (R-OK), Research and Technology Subcommittee Chair Haley Stevens (D-MI), and Ranking Member Michael Waltz (R-FL) for introducing the National Science Foundation for the Future Act. The bill would authorize critical funding for the Foundation and expand the scope of its activities to bolster the nation’s research and innovation capacity to address critical national challenges.

We are delighted to see bipartisan support for making the bold federal investments in research that help us stay at the forefront of global scientific advancement. These investments will help NSF catalyze innovation, support scientific leadership, and keep America globally competitive.

AAU supports strong investments in all fields of fundamental knowledge, and we look forward to working to advance the bill through the legislative process.

# # # # #

Founded in 1900, the Association of American Universities is composed of America’s leading research universities. AAU’s 65 research universities transform lives through education, research, and innovation.

Our member universities earn the majority of competitively awarded federal funding for research that improves public health, seeks to address national challenges, and contributes significantly to our economic strength, while educating and training tomorrow’s visionary leaders and innovators.

AAU member universities collectively help shape policy for higher education, science, and innovation; promote best practices in undergraduate and graduate education; and strengthen the contributions of leading research universities to American society.

Follow AAU on Twitter, on Facebook , and on LinkedIn.