topSkip to main content

Menu, Secondary

Menu Trigger

Who We Are

Who We Are



Founded in 1900, the Association of American Universities comprises 62 distinguished institutions in the United States and Canada that continually advance society through education, research, and discovery.

Our U.S. member universities earn the majority of competitively awarded federal funding for academic research, are improving human life and wellbeing through research, and are educating tomorrow’s visionary leaders and global citizens.

AAU members collectively help shape policy for higher education, science, and innovation; promote best practices in undergraduate and graduate education; and strengthen the contributions of research universities to society.