

Boston University
Brandeis University
Brown University
California Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Columbia University
Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Duke University
Emory University
The George Washington University
Georgia Institute of Technology

Arizona State University

Harvard University Indiana University The Johns Hopkins University Massachusetts Institute of Technology McGill University Michigan State University

New York University
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
The Pennsylvania State University
Princeton University
Purdue University

Rice University
Rutgers University – New Brunswick
Stanford University
Stony Brook University –
State University of New York
Texas A&M University

Tufts University
Tulane University
University at Buffalo —
State University of New York
The University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Riverside
University of California, Riverside
University of California, San Diego
University of California, San Diego

The University of Chicago
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Florida
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
The University of Iowa
The University of Kansas
University of Maryland, College Park
University of Michigan
University of Minesota, Twin Cities
University of Missouri, Columbia
The University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill
University of Notre Dame
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pentsylvania
University of Rochester
University of South Florida
University of South Florida
University of Southern California
The University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto
The University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Washington

The University of Wisconsin - Madison

Vanderbilt University
Washington University in St. Louis

Yale University

October 25, 2023

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Dick Durbin Majority Whip 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Thune Minority Whip 511 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leaders Schumer and McConnell,

The Association of American Universities (AAU) encourages swift Senate floor action on the nomination of Dr. Monica Bertagnolli to serve as the director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Dr. Bertagnolli is an innovative leader in oncology clinical research who has, for decades, championed collaborative initiatives to expand access to care and promoted strategies to improve clinical research data infrastructure. She is extremely well-suited to lead the NIH and is held in high regard by her fellow physician-scientists, as evidenced by her election to the National Academy of Medicine.

Indeed, Dr. Bertagnolli has widespread support from over 100 NIH Stakeholder organizations. A June 12, 2023, <u>letter</u> to Congressional leadership lauded her qualifications and requested a rapid Senate confirmation.

Her leadership in oncology is well-known to AAU and our member institutions. We look forward to continuing that partnership in her new role to further promote advances in science and medicine and to improve the health of all Americans. Bertagnolli is a graduate of two AAU member institutions – she holds a bachelor's degree in engineering from Princeton University and a medical degree from the University of Utah.

We at AAU understand that representation in leadership is key to advancing the causes of diversity and equity in scientific fields, and I am so pleased that Dr. Bertagnolli would be only the second woman to lead this critical agency. We encourage you to schedule Senate Floor consideration of her nomination as expeditiously as possible.

Thank you for your consideration, Bawara R. Snyde

Barbara Snyder President