May 16, 2025

The Honorable Hal Rogers Chairman Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science House Committee on Appropriations 2406 Rayburn House Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Grace Meng
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice,
and Science
House Committee on Appropriations
2406 Rayburn House Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Rogers and Ranking Member Meng:

We write to respectfully request that you support robust funding of at least \$10.18 billion for the National Science Foundation (NSF) for the Fiscal Year 2026 (FY26) Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill. Despite strong bipartisan support for NSF, the agency suffered cuts in the difficult FY24 funding environment.

The nation faces urgent competitiveness challenges, and NSF funding is critical to ensuring our innovation ecosystem is prepared to lead the world in the emerging technologies that are key to economic security and our national defense. For nearly 75 years, NSF has advanced the frontiers of the full spectrum of science and engineering research and innovation.

NSF is also critical for developing and strengthening our nation's workforce. More than a quarter of all graduate trainees in cutting-edge areas of research are supported by NSF. It also supports the education of advanced technical workers at more than 150 community colleges nationwide and works closely with industry and other partners to expand efforts to meet labor market needs by investing in targeted expertise and training programs.

For these reasons, we encourage you to robustly fund the National Science Foundation in FY2026. We must ensure our nation remains at the forefront of scientific and technological innovation across all fields of research.

Sincerely,

Jøe Neguse

Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress David Scott

David Scott
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Lucy MCBatt

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Jimmy Gomez
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress KevinMullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Vette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Ju**a**n Vargas

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Member of Congress

**J**ason Crow

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

frelle 5. ph Janelle S. Bynum

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

George Whitesides
Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

tarament.

Sarah Elfreth
Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress

June S. Proof

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Hillary J. Scholten
Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Angie Craig
Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Mark Jakan

Judy Chu () Member of Congress Frederica & Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Stacey E. Plaskett
Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

April McClain Delaney
Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, J Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Tinde J. Jain

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs



Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Paira Dollate

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Fauld tonles

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Mussy Houldon Chrissy Houlahan

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Chris Pappas
Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran
Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Tendy C. Jannol

JM Tokuda

Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby Scott Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Laura A. Gillen
Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Jawa Friedman

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman
Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Emily Randall
Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress Kim Schrier, M.D.
Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Member of Congress

Andre

William R. Keating

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Sahas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress