

Arizona State University Boston University Brandeis University Brown University California Institute of Technology Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University Columbia University Dartmouth College Duke University Emory University The George Washington University Georgia Institute of Technology The Johns Hopkins University Massachusetts Institute of Technology McGill University Michigan State University New York University Northwestern University The Ohio State University The Pennsylvania State University Princeton University Purdue University Rice University Rutgers University - New Brunswick Stony Brook University -State University of New York Texas A&M University Tufts University University at Buffalo – State University of New York The University of Arizona University of California, Berkeley University of California. Davis University of California, Irvine University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Riverside University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara The University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Florida University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign The University of Iowa The University of Kansas University of Maryland, College Park University of Miami University of Michigan University of Minnesota, Twin Cities The University of North Carolina at University of Notre Dame University of Oregon

University of Prensylvania University of Pennsylvania University of Pennsylvania University of Pottsburgh University of South Florida University of Southern California The University of Texas at Austin University of Toronto The University of Toronto The University of Virginia University of Wisconsin - Madison Vanderbilt University Washington University in St. Louis Yale University April 2, 2025

The Honorable Mike Lee Chair Committee on Energy & Natural Resources U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Martin Heinrich Ranking Member Committee on Energy & Natural Resources U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Lee and Ranking Member Heinrich,

I write to you to express my enthusiastic support for the nomination of Dr. Darío Gil to serve as Under Secretary for Science at the U.S. Department of Energy. The Department is an important lynchpin for strategic American science, and Darío will provide strong, effective, and visionary leadership to advance the Department's research programs for progress and competitiveness.

Appointed by President Trump to the National Science Board in 2020, Dr. Gil has served as a dynamic and energetic member of that group; he was elevated to Chair in 2024. In this role, he has been a forceful voice for American science and innovation. He brings a well-informed perspective on the needs of advanced industry, earned via more than two decades with IBM Research – itself a jewel of U.S. innovation. I particularly appreciate his views on the value of collaborations among industry, national labs, and academia, as demonstrated by his leadership of such projects as the MIT-IBM Watson AI Lab, a critical bridge between basic academic science and industry applications. Dr. Gil also served as a member of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) during President Trump's first term.

The nation faces an exciting, but demanding, time for science and energy. The Energy Information Administration predicts continued growth in U.S. energy consumption in the years ahead due in part to growth in data centers and manufacturing. We face intensifying global competition in energy and other emerging science-based fields. Achieving the Administration's vision for technology leadership and energy abundance will take advances in a broad array of areas like fusion, electrochemistry, and quantum science, and this in turn requires collaboration among our labs, our companies, and our universities. As Secretary Wright has said, "Technology doesn't happen in isolation."

To that end, I strongly support Darío's nomination and encourage the Committee to advance it expeditiously.

Sincerely,

Barbara R. Snyden

Barbara R. Snyder President