

Boston University
Brandeis University
Brown University
California Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Columbia University
Cornell University

Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Duke University
Emory University
Institute of Technology
Harvard University
Indiana University

The Johns Hopkins University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
McGill University
Michigan State University
New York University
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
The Pennsylvania State University
Princeton University
Purdue University

Rice University
Rutgers University – New Brunswick
Stanford University
Stony Brook University –
State University of New York
Texas A&M University

Tufts University
Tulane University
University at Buffalo —
State University of New York
The University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of California, Santa Barbara
University of California, Santa Cruz
The University of Chicago
University of Colorado Boulder

University of Florida
University of Florida
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
The University of Iowa
The University of Kansas
University of Maryland, College Park
University of Michigan
University of Minesota, Twin Cities
University of Missouri, Columbia
The University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill

University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
The University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto
The University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Washington
The University of Washington
The University of Wandison
Vanderbilt University

Washington University in St. Louis

April 29, 2022

The Honorable Patty Murray Chairwoman Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Richard Burr
Ranking Member
Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
Committee
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairwoman Murray and Ranking Member Burr,

On behalf of the Association of American Universities, an organization of America's leading research universities, I write to express my support for the nomination of Dr. Nasser Paydar as Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education at the U.S. Department of Education.

Dr. Paydar is eminently qualified to serve as the next Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education. His distinguished career in higher education is marked by accomplishments as a faculty member, an administrator in multiple posts, and a chief executive. Dr. Paydar has been recognized for his tireless service and strategic leadership during his tenue at IUPUI. Throughout his career he has worked toward making postsecondary education more accessible and affordable for all who seek education and training to advance their knowledge, skills, and careers.

Former Indiana University President Michael McRobbie, who served as AAU's board chair from 2019 to 2020, worked closely with Dr. Paydar at Indiana University. Dr. Paydar was among President McRobbie's small group of trusted advisors who served on the Executive Academic Leadership Council at IU. According to President Emeritus McRobbie, Dr. Paydar is a leader who works well with diverse groups of students and other stakeholders, is widely respected, and knows how to get important things done.

On the occasion of his stepping down as Chancellor of IUPUI, he was celebrated for putting student success at the forefront and creating opportunities for underrepresented students to pursue higher education. Both of these endeavors are vital to the success of the next Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education. We urge you and members of the Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee to favorably report Dr. Paydar's nomination as soon as possible for consideration by the full Senate.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely, Bawara R. Snydu

Barbara R. Snyder

President

cc: Members of the Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee