

Boston University Brandeis University Brown University California Institute of Technology Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University Indiana University Iowa State University The Johns Hopkins University Massachusetts Institute of Technology McGill University Michigan State University New York University Northwestern University The Ohio State University The Pennsylvania State University Princeton University Purdue University Rice University Rutgers University - New Brunswick Stanford University Stony Brook University -State University of New York Texas A&M University University at Buffalo -State University of New York The University of Arizona University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis University of California. Irvine University of California, Los Angeles University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara The University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Florida University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign The University of Iowa

The University of Kansas

University of Michigan

University of Oregon University of Pennsylvania

University of Pittsburgh

University of Rochester

University of Toronto

University of Virginia
University of Washington

Vanderbilt University

Yale University

University of Southern California The University of Texas at Austin

The University of Wisconsin - Madison

Washington University in St. Louis

University of Maryland, College Park

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

The University of North Carolina at

November 13, 2018

Aaron Washington U.S. Department of Education 400 Maryland Avenue, SW Room 294-12 Washington, D.C. 20202

Submitted electronically to negregnominations@ed.gov

Re: Docket Number ED-2018-OPE-0076

Dear Mr. Washington:

On behalf of the Association of American Universities (AAU), representing 60 leading research universities in the United States, I am writing to ask that the Department of Education consider Dr. Wayne Jacobson of the University of Iowa, Dr. Janet Schreck and Dr. Stephen Gange of Johns Hopkins University, and Ms. Lichinia Beltré of Columbia University as negotiators on the Accreditation and Innovation negotiated rulemaking committee. AAU understands the need to ensure accountability in higher education while allowing universities to maintain local control of their academic missions. We hope you will consider Dr. Jacobson, Dr. Gange, Dr. Schreck, and Ms. Lichinia Beltré as individual negotiators on the committee.

Dr. Wayne Jacobson has served as the Assessment Director at the University of Iowa since 2009. In this role, he coordinates learning outcomes assessments in academic programs, prepares the university's next reaffirmation of accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), and oversees campus-wide data collection through student surveys. He has been heavily involved in HLC as a regular contributor to HLC Annual meetings and was trained as an HLC peer reviewer in 2010. Dr. Jacobson is a critical stakeholder and accomplished candidate for the Accreditation and Innovation Committee.

Dr. Janet Schreck is the Associate Vice Provost for Education and the Accreditation Liaison Officer at Johns Hopkins University. In these roles, she oversees institutional assessment and serves as the Middle States Accreditation Liaison Officer. She also manages Johns Hopkins University's compliance and correspondence with the Maryland Higher Education Commission. Dr. Schreck's experience in accreditation and compliance make her an excellent candidate for the Accreditation and Innovation Committee.

Dr. Stephen Gange is the Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at Johns Hopkins University. He leads academic affairs committees and fosters innovations in teaching and learning. Prior to serving as the Executive Vice Provost, Dr. Gange served as the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the Bloomberg School of Public Health. In addition to his university leadership experience, he has expertise in statistical and data analysis. Dr. Gange's expertise in innovative teaching and learning practices would make him a valuable voice on the Distance Learning and Educational Innovation Subcommittee.

Lichinia Beltré is the Executive Director of Compliance for Student Financial Services at Columbia University where she fosters and ensures compliance with federal, state, and

institutional requirements. Her work includes regulatory compliance related to state authorization and distance education. She has expertise in process assessment, policy and procedure development, and strategy implementation. With her experience in compliance and policy development, Ms. Beltré is an important stakeholder to serve on the Distance Learning and Educational Innovation Subcommittee.

We appreciate your consideration of Dr. Wayne Jacobson (wayne-jacobson@uiowa.edu), Dr. Janet Schreck (jschreck@jhu.edu), Dr. Stephen Gange (sgange@jhu.edu), and Ms. Lichinia Beltré (lb216@columbia.edu) for the Accreditation and Innovation negotiated rulemaking committee. Please do not hesitate to reach out to AAU or the proposed negotiators directly with questions.

Sincerely,

Mary Sue Coleman

Many Sue Coleman

President