December 4, 2022

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen Chair Subcommittee on Commerce-Justice-Science Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Matt Cartwright Chairman Subcommittee on Commerce-Justice-Science Committee on Appropriations House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Jerry Moran Ranking Minority Member Subcommittee on Commerce-Justice-Science Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Ranking Minority Member Subcommittee on Commerce-Justice-Science Committee on Appropriations House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chair Shaheen, Ranking Member Moran, Chairman Cartwright, and Ranking Member Aderholt:

Over the last two years, we have witnessed one of the most significant advances in this nation's science enterprise since the publication of Vannevar Bush's *Science, The Endless Frontier* with the enactment of landmark legislation including the *Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act*, the *Inflation Reduction Act*, and the *CHIPS and Science Act*. Significant resources were appropriated to address economic competitiveness and a myriad of climate change issues; invest in clean energy technology deployment, semiconductor manufacturing, and efforts to accelerate the deployment of biomedical and health research results; and refurbish research infrastructure at the Department of Energy's National Labs as well as weather- and ocean-related facilities at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The *CHIPS and Science Act* authorizes important initiatives to strengthen the fundamental research enterprise, support research infrastructure, broaden the participation of people and regions not well represented in today's science enterprise, expand STEM education, and address research security issues.

As you and your colleagues go to conference on the FY 2023 Commerce-Justice-Science Appropriations Act, as former NSF Directors and National Science Board (NSB) Chairs, we collectively urge the conference to appropriate \$11.89 billion to the National Science Foundation (NSF) - the amount authorized for NSF in FY 2023 in the *CHIPS and Science Act*.

As you know, China and other nations are aggressively investing in research and commercialization as they try to dominate the key technologies of the future. China's spending on research and development grew an average of 12.3% annually between 2016 and 2021, surpassing the U.S. growth rate of 7.8%. Without a significant and sustained increased investment in our fundamental research enterprise, it is only a matter of time before our competitors overtake the United States in certain aspects of technological primacy.

Fundamental research is conducted at America's research universities and in so doing it provides a dual benefit to the nation. It creates the foundation for major advances in health and medicine, national security, communications, food, economics, energy, and other areas. At the same time, it helps educate students to be the scientific leaders, innovators, and entrepreneurs of tomorrow. The national investment in university research has fueled U.S. economic growth and prosperity and made the nation a beacon for the best and brightest from around the world. But this leadership is not guaranteed.

In January of this year, the NSB released the latest edition of *Science and Engineering Indicators*. The report concluded that the global concentration of research and development performance continues to shift from the U.S. and Europe to countries in East-Southeast Asia and South Asia. If our nation is to remain a world leader in science and technology, amongst the many issues we must address is to enhance our investments in next-generation research facilities such as advanced computing centers, astronomical and atmospheric observing capabilities, ocean and coastal research facilities, particle accelerators, and mid-scale research infrastructure. Such facilities enable the conduct of cutting-edge research that can contribute to our economic and national security as well as the education and training of our technological workforce.

As the NSB concluded in another report on the NSF's role in research infrastructure, there can be no doubt that modern and effective research infrastructure is critical to maintaining U.S. leadership in science and engineering. New tools have opened vast research frontiers and fueled technological innovation in fields such as biotechnology, climate change, data science, artificial intelligence, quantum computing, and communications. The concept of infrastructure has expanded to include distributed systems of hardware, software, information bases, observing systems, and automated aids for data analysis and

interpretation. Among Federal agencies, NSF is a leader in providing the academic community with access to state-of-the-art instrumentation and facilities. This infrastructure is essential to address complex research questions, the answers to which may transform scientific thinking. In an era of rapid discovery and intense competition, it is critical that NSF's infrastructure investments be enhanced so that advancements in fundamental research can continue to contribute to our important national goals.

The *CHIPS and Science Act* contains a comprehensive reauthorization of the NSF. We are hopeful that this Congressional aspiration will be matched by actions on the part of the conferees on the FY 2023 Commerce-Justice-Science Appropriations Act. Investments in discovery science and its underlying infrastructure are of paramount importance to protecting America's national security and ensuring our economic strength and leadership in the industries of the future.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this information. We stand ready to assist the Subcommittee in whatever way would be most useful.

Former NSF Directors	Former NSB Chairs
France A. (ordown	Deans L'Arriaine
France Cordova, NSF Director 2014-2020	Diane Souvaine, NSB Chair 2018-2020
Reta R. Colwell	Ridad N. Zan
Rita Colwell, NSF Director 1998-2004	Richard Zare, NSB Chair 1996-1998
Walter E. Manay	Cay M. Sower
Walter Massey, NSF Director 1991-1993	Ray Bowen, NSB Chair 2010-2012
Neal Jane	Harden J comment
Neal Lane, NSF Director 1993-1998	James Duderstadt, NSB Chair 1991-1994
Som Som	Ellen Ochoa
Subra Suresh, NSF Director 2010-2013	Ellen Ochoa, NSB Chair 2020-2022
Revision C. Artein Su-	
Richard Atkinson, NSF Director 1976-1980	

Sincerely,