

Brandeis University
Brown University
California Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Columbia University

Boston University

Cornell University
Duke University
Emory University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Harvard University
Indiana University

lowa State University
The Johns Hopkins University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
McGill University
Michigan State University
New York University
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
The Pennsylvania State University
Princeton University

Purdue University
Rice University
Rutgers University – New Brunswick
Stanford University
Stony Brook University –
State University of New York
Texas A&M University

University at Buffalo –
State University of New York
The University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles

University of California, San Diego

University of California, Santa Barbara
The University of Chicago
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Florida
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
The University of Iowa
The University of Kansas
University of Maryland, College Park

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
University of Missouri, Columbia
The University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill

University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
The University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto
University of Virginia
University of Washington
The University of Wisconsin - Madison
Vanderbilt University

Washington University in St. Louis

Yale University

November 18, 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leaders Schumer, McCarthy, and McConnell:

I write on behalf of America's leading research universities to urge you to reach a bipartisan agreement to complete the FY22 appropriations process before the end of the year.

Recent suggestions that final FY22 appropriations could be delayed until March 2022 are distressing. Higher education, research, and innovation play integral roles in our nation's competitiveness, security, health, and ability to combat and overcome the pandemic. Our nation cannot afford continued inaction on FY22 appropriations. In the absence of final appropriations, federal agencies postpone research award decisions and prepare for potential lapses in funding. Continuing resolutions (CRs) slow the pace of scientific innovation and create funding uncertainty for researchers and students. It is vital that Congress complete appropriations this year and avoid serial stop-gap measures and a yearlong CR.

Congress has made good progress in determining FY22 funding levels, and now it is time to finish the job. Both the House and Senate bills include important increases to federal investments in student aid and research that would help bolster our nation's economic competitiveness and standing as the global innovation leader. For example, the bills propose a \$400 increase to the Pell Grant maximum award and increased funding for other student aid programs, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy's Office of Science, and other critical research agencies. AAU supports the proposed increases, and we stand ready to reinforce efforts to ensure final passage.

We urge you to complete FY22 appropriations before the end of the year and to approve the highest levels of funding proposed for student aid and research programs in the House and Senate bills. Thank you for considering our views.

Sincerely,

Barbara R. Snyder, President

cc: Members of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees