

Boston University
Brandeis University
Brown University
California Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Columbia University

Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Duke University
Emory University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Harvard University

Indiano Chiversity
The Johns Hopkins University
The Johns Hopkins University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
McGill University
Michigan State University
New York University
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
The Pennsylvania State University

Rice University
Rutgers University – New Brunswick
Stanford University
Stony Brook University –
State University of New York
Texas A&M University

Princeton University

Purdue University

Tulane University
University at Buffalo —
State University of New York
The University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of California, Santa Barbara
University of California, Santa Cruz
The University of Chicago
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Florida
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaien

University of Maryland, College Park
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
University of Missouri, Columbia
The University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania

The University of Iowa

The University of Kansas

University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
The University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto
The University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Washington
The University of Madison

Washington University in St. Louis

Yale University

June 9, 2020

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leaders McConnell and Schumer,

The Association of American Universities (AAU) encourages a swift floor action on the confirmation of Sethuraman Panchanathan as the Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Representing 65 leading research universities, we are encouraged that Dr. Panchanathan's wealth of experience and exemplary credentials make him a strong candidate to lead the NSF into the new decade.

Furthermore, since former NSF Director France Córdova completed her term at the end of March, NSF has been led by Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, who also continues to serve as the Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology (OSTP). While Dr. Droegemeier is a very capable leader, his responsibilities at OSTP include coordinating the federal response to the COVID-19 crisis in addition to many others. NSF needs a permanent Director to provide necessary leadership for the agency, which is also is conducting important research on the pandemic.

Dr. Panchanathan has led visionary work at Arizona State University, and he has also served since 2014 on the National Science Board, which guides the direction of NSF. Last week, the Senate HELP Committee favorably reported his nomination on a voice vote after receiving more than 20 letters of support.

Dr. Panchanathan is poised to keep NSF at the forefront of discovery and innovation, continue its work to narrow the global innovation deficit, and collaborate with the higher education community. These are key attributes to the success of NSF, and we encourage you to schedule Senate Floor consideration of his nomination as expeditiously as possible.

Thank you for your consideration,

Many Sue Coleman

Mary Sue Coleman President