

ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN UNIVERSITIES

Boston University Brandeis University Brown University California Institute of Technology Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University Columbia University Cornell University Duke University Emory University Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University Indiana University Iowa State University The Johns Hopkins University Massachusetts Institute of Technology McGill University Michigan State University New York University Northwestern University The Ohio State University

Princeton University Purdue University Rice University Rutgers University - New Brunswick Stanford University Stony Brook University -State University of New York Texas A&M University Tulane University University at Buffalo -State University of New York The University of Arizona University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis University of California, Irvine University of California, Los Angeles University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara The University of Chicago University of Colorado, Boulder University of Florida University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign The University of Iowa The University of Kansas University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Minnesota, Twin Cities University of Missouri, Columbia The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University of Oregon University of Pennsylvania University of Pittsburgh University of Rochester University of Southern California The University of Texas at Austin University of Toronto University of Virginia University of Washington

The Pennsylvania State University

University of Washington University of Wisconsin - Madison Vanderbilt University Washington University in St. Louis Yale University November 14, 2016

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Harry Reid Democratic Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Ryan and Leaders McConnell, Pelosi, and Reid:

On behalf of the Association of American Universities, an association of 60 leading U.S. research universities, I write to thank you for passing the short-term continuing resolution (H.R. 5325) through December 9th as we requested, and to urge passage of an omnibus or series of appropriations bills to complete the FY17 appropriations process in this Congress.

Avoiding a year-long continuing resolution and completing the FY17 appropriations process will allow enactment of key decisions already made by the appropriators to strengthen our country. For example, the House and Senate appropriations bills propose funding increases for the National Institutes of Health, the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative, as well as for the Department of Energy's Office of Science, ARPA-E, and the National Endowment for the Humanities. The Senate Appropriations Committee proposes restoring the year-round Pell Grant, which would improve time to degree for more than a million low-income students. Additionally, the House Appropriations Committee proposes vital funding increases for NASA's science, aeronautics, and space technology programs. All these proposed funding increases would help prevent an innovation deficit and ensure the U.S. remains the global innovation leader.

In addition, we respectfully request renewed attention be given to increasing investments in the National Science Foundation, the Department of Defense Science and Technology programs, and the Department of Education's Institute for Education Sciences and the Title VI international education and Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need programs.

The attached table outlines AAU's recommended FY17 funding levels for all the aforementioned programs and other federal scientific research and higher education programs important to our nation's economic and national security.

Thank you for considering our views as you seek to finalize the FY17 appropriations process.

Sincerely,

Many Sie Coleman

Mary Sue Coleman President

CC: The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Leader The Honorable Steve Scalise, House Majority Whip The Honorable Steny Hoyer, House Democratic Whip The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers, House Majority Conference Chair The Honorable James Clyburn, House Assistant Democratic Leader The Honorable Luke Messer, House Majority Policy Committee Chair The Honorable Xavier Becerra, House Democratic Caucus Chair The Honorable John Cornyn, Senate Majority Whip The Honorable Dick Durbin, Senate Democratic Whip The Honorable John Thune, Senate Majority Conference Chair The Honorable John Barrasso, Senate Majority Policy Committee Chair The Honorable Chuck Schumer, Senate Democratic Policy Committee Chair The Honorable Roy Blunt, Senate Majority Conference Vice Chair The Honorable Patty Murray, Senate Democratic Conference Secretary Members of the House Appropriations Committee Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee

AAU FY17 Appropriations Recommendations

	AAU Recommendation (in millions)
Department of Education	
Pell Grant Maximum Grant (in thousands)	\$5,935
Federal Work Study	\$990
SEOG	\$757
GEAR UP	\$345
TRIO	\$960
GAANN	\$31
International Ed Programs	\$76
ARPA-ED	\$50
First In the World	\$100
Institute of Education Sciences	\$618
National Institutes of Health	\$34,084
National Science Foundation	\$7,509
NASA	
Science	\$5,597
Aeronautics	\$712
Space Technology	\$739
Department of Agriculture	
Agriculture and Food Research Initiative	\$375
Department of Energy	
Office of Science	\$5,400
ARPA-E	\$325
Department of Defense	
6.1 Basic Research	\$2,532
National Endowment for the Humanities	\$150