Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

November 18, 2015

The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nita Lowey Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Rogers and Ranking Member Lowey:

As the House continues crafting appropriations legislation before the current continuing resolution expires on December 11, 2015, we write to express our strong support for increasing the funding provided to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). In any forthcoming appropriations legislation for FY 2016, we urge you to work with your colleagues in the Senate to ensure NIH receives an annual funding level of at least \$32 billion, equal to the level approved by the Senate Appropriations Committee, in order to maintain America's role as a global leader in biomedical research and ground-breaking medical discoveries.

We are concerned that, over the last 12 years, the federal government's contributions toward basic research at NIH have consistently failed to keep pace with inflation. By failing to at least hold NIH funding constant with other rising costs, Congress has allowed the agency's purchasing power to diminish by more than 20 percent since 2003. Indiscriminate budget cuts imposed on the agency during sequestration only further exacerbated this trend, reducing NIH's budget by an additional 5 percent in FY 2013. As the growth in other countries' investments in medical research continues to far outpace those made here in the U.S., it is more critical than ever that we act to reverse this trend.

Insufficient funding for NIH has a serious, wide-ranging impact on our nation's health and our capacity for medical innovation in the 21st century. If we are serious about breaking new ground in our understanding of complex diseases like Alzheimer's and cancer, and if we hope to accelerate the speed with which new cures, treatments and vaccines are developed, then it's absolutely essential that we increase funding for medical research at NIH. Particularly given the significant investments in NIH approved earlier this year by both the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, we feel strongly that now is the time to commit to our nation's long-term health and prosperity.

While we understand the difficult fiscal challenges you face, we urge you to prioritize the important role that NIH plays in biomedical research and economic growth by working to fund

the agency at an annual level of at least \$32 billion. Thank you for your consideration of this request, which will make a meaningful difference in the lives of millions of Americans.

Sincerely,

Suzar K DelBene Member of Congress David B. McKinley
Member of Congress

Chris Van Hollen Member of Congress

Sander M Levin Member of Congress Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

willing

John Conyers, Jr. Member of Congress

Elizabeth H. Esty Member of Congress Niki Tsongas Member of Congress

Katherine M. Clark Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress Dave Loebsack Member of Congress Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress	Steve Cohen Member of Congress	Robert A. Brady Member of Congress
Robert J. Dold Member of Congress	Daniel Lipinski Member of Congress	Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress
Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress	Wm. Lacy Clay Member of Congress	Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress
Jim McDermott Member of Congress	Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress	Gwen Moore Member of Congress
Mark Takai Member of Congress	Lois Capps Member of Congress	Charles B. Rangel Member of Congress
Elijah E. Cummings Member of Congress	Peter Welch Member of Congress	James P. McGovern Member of Congress
Corrine Brown Member of Congress	Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress	Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Jim Cooper	Gerald E. Connolly	Anna G. Eshoo
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John B. Larson	Michael F. Doyle	Sean Patrick Maloney
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John K. Delaney Member of Congress	Scott H. Peters Member of Congress	Lois Frankel Member of Congress
G. K. Butterfield	Doris O. Matsui	Timothy J. Walz
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Ann Kirkpatrick	Ed Perlmutter	Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Patrick E. Murphy	John Garamendi	Richard M. Nolan
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Beto O'Rourke	Alan Lowenthal	Albio Sires
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress John Lewis
Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Dana Rohrabacher Member of Congress Peter A. DeFazio

Member of Congress

Keith Ellison Member of Congress Loretta Sanchez Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

David Scott
Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Hakeem S. Lefferies Member of Congress Joseph P. Kennedy III Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress Michael G. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress William R. Keating Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Robert C 'Bobby' Scott Judy Chu Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Michael E. Capuano Barbara Lee Luis V. Gutiérrez Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Louise M. Slaughter Donald M. Payne, Jr. Donna F. Edwards Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Brad Ashford Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Tamny Duckworth Ron Kind James R. Langevin Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nydia Velázquez

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross heila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Edwie Bennie Johnson Eddie Bernice Johnson Ted W. Lieu Julia Brownley Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Kurt Schrader Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Jackie Speier Bill Foster Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress John Yarmuth Maxine Waters Chris Gibson Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Zoe Lofgren Jared Polis Mike Thompson Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Steve Stivers
Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress Tim Himes Member of Congress

Johann Castro Member of Congress	Gene Greeh Member of Congress	Ber Ray Luján Member of Congress
Chaka Fattah Member of Congress	Dina Titus Member of Congress	Marcia L. Fudge Member of Congress
Raul Ruiz Member of Congress Rubén Hinojosa Member of Congress	Prederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress	Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress
Denny Heck Member of Congress	Matt Salmon Member of Congress	Jared Huffman Member of Congress
John Katko Member of Congress	Betty McCollum Member of Congress	Frank Guinta Member of Congress
Linda Sánchez Member of Congress	Janice Hahn Member of Congress	Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress
Alma Adams		

Member of Congress